Home, Sweaty Home

Sorry, this one is being posted late:

Well, here we are again. On the airplane. Sir Snort-a-Lot behind me keeping his mucous at bay, while Mr Eye-Bulge turns around every couple minutes to either creep me out or check on the bathroom situation. Not sure which is his goal, but the former is working effectively. And someone (we’ll blame Sir Snort, today's obvious villain) has contributed to the mixture of gases in the cabin, providing what can only be so unforgivably called a "greenhouse gas". I love close quarters on planes....or is it "closed quarters"? Kinda doubting myself now...

Fortunately for her, Shelagh is not party to this bodily-function filled flight. She is still resting in Atlanta. I however, came up to Houston and am now on my merry way to Seattle. I can just imagine the puzzled looks I am getting so let me explain:

Back in April when I returned home solo, I flew on the original ticket we had purchased. Shelagh opted to change hers so as to be able to stay in Central America. That in itself cost a pretty penny, but to get onto the same flights woulda cost a pretty dime, so we opted for the cheaper alternative. It has proven interesting because before we left Honduras we made contact with friends of friends in Atlanta so Shelagh would have a place to sleep. Not being able to make plans myself with anyone in Houston, I resigned myself to an airport snooze. Unbelievably, Shelagh texts me to let me know that her hosts have friends in Houston! Sure enough, within the hour, a couple Hondurans pull up, take me for yogurt, and give me a place to shower and sleep! So it was interesting how we still came together in that way, and now we have friends in both cities we routinely connect in en route to and from Honduras! And both families are Honduran... So anyways by tonight I'll be in Victoria and Shelagh in Vancouver. She'll catch the boat to Nanaimo either tonight or in the morning, and I will see her up there Sunday afternoon or evening.

This time we had quite the short goodbye and rather unemotional one...only because she literally had to run to her gate for the plane! You see, the San Pedro airport was absolutely packed with people! That's not unusual, if your 3rd cousin twice removed flies out, the whole family seems to show up to see them off, making lineups look much larger than they actually are. But yesterday was an exception: they actually were that long! And it seems the airlines had taken a page out of the TSA's playbook because they only had like 2 agents each checking people in!! Immigration meanwhile was well stocked, but their job takes a few minutes anyways. Nevertheless, in true Honduran fashion, we budged the line. Which actually isn't that offensive here! Shelagh had made friends with a gentleman who lives in the States with his wife, and it turns out his uncle and several relatives were flying out that day too, so we skipped the line by quite a bit! Normally I'd feel bad about that...and so I actually did! Haha! But here it's not as taboo, and well, when in Rome...

The airport time would have been less stressful had we gotten there earlier. However, we made a perhaps somewhat unnecessary stop on the way. It's hard to know whether it was necessary or not, but it should help us when we return. Our resident cards finally came in at immigration there, so we detoured into downtown San Pedro Sula to pick them up! They're quite snazzy actually, despite the poor laminating job...and the fact I definitely look like a criminal in mine... I could barely remember where the immigration office was, but we found it, and thanks to more line-budging, we got the photocopies they required (but of course never bothered to do themselves) and got our cards. Which came in handy too, because at the airport they told Shelagh she had been in the country too long and would face a fine, but she showed the card and got out of that! So despite an incredibly stressful day that it was yesterday, the final result was surprisingly good!

Now the day before that was likewise stressful, but lacking some of the good results. We are coming home because a friend of Shelagh's is getting married. Obviously we will take advantage to work and visit family and friends, but the main goal is the wedding. So Shelagh had shopped around in Honduras to see what she could help provide. She found some material to make some flowers for the dresses, and some lace for decorations. Now, a lesson in Honduras is: If you want something done quickly, get it started EARLY; and if you see something you like, buy it. Sure enough it took until the last day to get the flowers and Shelagh's dress done, and the fabric and lace she had wanted to buy more of: sold out. And things are necessarily kept in stock in Honduras... Thus, rather than having a chilled packing day, we were packing Into the wee hours...

On a side note, it's funny how airplanes and airports change our reformed ways of thinking and speaking into some Shaespearean past. Why, for example, do bathrooms (or restrooms or washrooms) suddenly become "lavatories" on planes? What is more, they don't have "sinks", but "wash basins"! And suddenly class distinctions and segregation are ok. Money buys happiness on a plane, on the side of which they salute army veterans, while at the same time taking away our freedom and dignity those soldiers supposedly fought for! You know what I mean if ever you've gone through airport security in the US... The idea some stores have of having all checkout lanes open during peak times is something airports have spurned! Sure, all their agents are technically open, but 3 serving 4 lines hardly makes sense!

Anyways, we are pretty excited to be heading home. Actually, to arrive home at some point this weekend. The actual travel, or "heading" part is quite tiring and aggravating. Young Sir Kick-a-Lot sat behind me yesterday, preventing my seat from ever being still, and Sir Snort is making me miss roosters. At least Mr Eye-Bulge has been keeping to himself. My flying mate has finally opened the window shutter so I can see we are in fact still on course. So off to Seattle I go, a few hours to visit there before the short hop home. And that'll be nice, cuz I gotta visit the greenhouse soon...